AMD vs Intel processors comparison chart

On the desktop, AMD's Ryzen 9 9900X gives you 12 cores and 24 threads at 120 W, while Intel's Core Ultra 9 285K gives you 24 cores and 24 threads at a 125 W base power.

The charts below set those two chips side by side, then compare Ryzen AI 300 with Intel Core Ultra Series 3 laptops, AM5 and Intel 800 series chipsets, integrated graphics and memory support, using only the specifications AMD and Intel publish.

AMD vs Intel processors: quick comparison

Both chips are current high-end desktop parts on PCIe 5.0 and DDR5. The biggest differences are core layout, socket and power limits.

Specification AMD Ryzen 9 9900X Intel Core Ultra 9 285K
Cores / threads 12 / 24 (all one core type) 24 / 24 (8 Performance-cores + 16 Efficient-cores)
Simultaneous multithreading Yes, 2 threads per core No (Hyper-Threading: No)
Max boost clock Up to 5.6 GHz Up to 5.7 GHz
Base clock 4.4 GHz 3.7 GHz (P-cores), 3.2 GHz (E-cores)
Cache 76 MB total (L2 + L3) 36 MB Intel Smart Cache plus 40 MB L2
Power 120 W TDP 125 W base, 250 W maximum turbo
Socket AM5 LGA1851
PCIe Gen 5 PCIe 5.0 and 4.0, up to 24 lanes
Memory DDR5, dual channel Up to DDR5-6400, dual channel, up to 256 GB
Integrated graphics Not listed in AMD's launch table Intel Graphics, 4 Xe-cores, up to 2 GHz
Availability July 2024 Q4 2024, $589 to $599 recommended price

Pick the Ryzen 9 9900X if you want 24 threads at a lower rated power on a socket AMD supports through 2027 and beyond. Pick the Core Ultra 9 285K if you want 24 physical cores and Intel Quick Sync video encoding on the processor.

AMD Ryzen 9 9900X specifications

The Ryzen 9 9900X sits second in AMD's Ryzen 9000 desktop range, which uses the Zen 5 architecture. AMD rates Zen 5 at an average 16% higher instructions per clock than Zen 4.

Model Cores / threads Boost / base Total cache PCIe TDP
Ryzen 9 9950X 16 / 32 5.7 / 4.3 GHz 80 MB Gen 5 170 W
Ryzen 9 9900X 12 / 24 5.6 / 4.4 GHz 76 MB Gen 5 120 W
Ryzen 7 9700X 8 / 16 5.5 / 3.8 GHz 40 MB Gen 5 65 W
Ryzen 5 9600X 6 / 12 5.4 / 3.9 GHz 38 MB Gen 5 65 W

AMD defines max boost as the highest frequency a single core reaches in a short single-threaded burst. Cooling, motherboard design, BIOS and the chipset driver all change how often you see it.

Older Ryzen 7000 and Ryzen 5000 chips use different sockets and memory, so check the full AMD Ryzen CPU list before you mix generations.

Intel Core Ultra 9 285K specifications

The Core Ultra 9 285K tops Intel's Core Ultra 200S desktop range, formerly code-named Arrow Lake. Intel lists separate clocks for each core type.

Specification Intel Core Ultra 9 285K
Performance-cores / Efficient-cores 8 / 16
P-core max turbo / base 5.5 / 3.7 GHz
E-core max turbo / base 4.6 / 3.2 GHz
Turbo Boost Max 3.0 / Thermal Velocity Boost 5.6 / 5.7 GHz
NPU Intel AI Boost, 13 TOPS (36 TOPS for the whole processor)
Memory Up to DDR5-6400, ECC supported, 256 GB maximum
PCIe configurations 1×16+2×4, 2×8+2×4 or 1×8+4×4
Thunderbolt Thunderbolt 4
Lithography TSMC N3B
Max operating temperature 105 °C
Intel Core Ultra 9 285K official specifications page with Compare button
Intel's specification page for the Core Ultra 9 285K lists the core counts, clocks and memory figures used in this table. (Image: Intel)

AMD AM5 motherboard chipset comparison

Every chipset below takes a Ryzen 9000 or Ryzen 7000 processor in the AM5 socket. The chipset decides PCIe 5.0 slots, USB4 and overclocking, not the CPU.

AM5 chipset PCIe 5.0 Overclocking Other features
X870E 24 PCIe 5.0 lanes, 16 for graphics, direct NVMe Yes, plus faster EXPO memory overclocking USB4 standard, Wi-Fi 7, 44 total PCIe lanes
X870 Direct-to-processor PCIe 5.0 NVMe Yes, plus faster EXPO memory overclocking USB4 standard, Wi-Fi 7, 44 total PCIe lanes
X670E Graphics and storage Extreme overclocking Most connectivity of the 600 series
X670 Storage, optional graphics Enthusiast overclocking Launched September 2022
B650E Storage, optional graphics Not stated by AMD Aimed at performance users
B650 Optional Not stated by AMD Mainstream DDR5 boards

The E suffix on an AMD chipset means PCIe 5.0 graphics. On a plain X670, B650E or B650 board, PCIe 5.0 to the graphics slot depends on the board maker.

Intel 800 series chipsets for Core Ultra 200S desktops

Intel chipset Overclocking support Chipset PCIe USB
Z890 CPU cores (IA), BCLK and memory PCIe 4.0 USB 3.2, 2.0
W880 Memory PCIe 4.0 USB 3.2, 2.0
B860 Memory PCIe 4.0 USB 3.2, 2.0
Q870 None PCIe 4.0 USB 3.2, 2.0
H810 None PCIe 4.0 USB 3.2, 2.0

A K-series chip such as the 285K only unlocks its cores on a Z890 board. On B860 you keep memory overclocking but lose core and BCLK tuning.

Intel Core Ultra Series 3: read the model carefully

Core Ultra Series 3, formerly Panther Lake, launched in Q1 2026 as a mobile family built on Intel 18A. Models with near-identical names carry very different graphics and memory.

Model Cores (P + E + LP E) / threads Max turbo Graphics Memory Power base / max
Core Ultra X9 388H 16 (4 + 8 + 4) / 16 5.1 GHz Intel Arc B390, 12 Xe-cores LPDDR5X-9600 only, 96 GB max 25 / 80 W
Core Ultra 9 386H 16 (4 + 8 + 4) / 16 4.9 GHz Intel Graphics, 4 Xe-cores LPDDR5X-9600 or DDR5-7200, 128 GB max 25 / 80 W
Core Ultra 5 325 8 (4 + 0 + 4) / 8 4.5 GHz Intel Graphics, 4 Xe-cores LPDDR5X-7467 or DDR5-6400, 128 GB max 25 / 55 W

The X in Core Ultra X9 marks the 12-Xe-core Arc B390. A Core Ultra 9 386H has the same CPU cores but a third of the graphics cores.

The X9 388H lists LPDDR5X only, so its memory is soldered and cannot be upgraded later. Intel also says Arc graphics on H-series systems need at least 16 GB of dual-channel memory.

Intel Core Ultra processor name split into brand, tier, generation, SKU and suffix
In an Intel model name, the digit after Ultra is the performance tier and the final letter is the suffix. (Image: Intel)

AMD vs Intel laptop processors comparison chart

AMD's Ryzen AI 300 laptop chips use Zen 5 cores, RDNA 3.5 graphics and an XDNA 2 NPU. They compete with Core Ultra Series 3 in ultrathin laptops.

Model Cores / threads Max boost Cache Graphics NPU Power
AMD Ryzen AI 9 HX 370 12 / 24 5.1 GHz 36 MB Radeon 890M 50 TOPS 15-54 W cTDP
AMD Ryzen AI 9 365 10 / 20 5.0 GHz 34 MB Radeon 880M 50 TOPS 15-54 W cTDP
Intel Core Ultra X9 388H 16 / 16 5.1 GHz 18 MB Smart Cache Arc B390 50 TOPS 25 W base, 80 W turbo
Intel Core Ultra 9 386H 16 / 16 4.9 GHz 18 MB Smart Cache Intel Graphics 50 TOPS 25 W base, 80 W turbo

AMD gives Ryzen AI 300 two threads per core, so 12 cores show as 24 threads. Intel Series 3 has one thread per core but splits work across three core types.

AMD versus Intel integrated graphics

Processor Integrated graphics What the vendor lists
Ryzen 7000 / 9000 desktop (AM5) Graphics in the I/O die AMD's Ryzen 7000 launch lists video encode/decode, light-duty graphics and multi-display support
Core Ultra 9 285K Intel Graphics, 4 Xe-cores Up to 2 GHz, 4 displays, AV1 encode/decode, DirectX 12
Ryzen AI 9 HX 370 Radeon 890M RDNA 3.5 architecture, aimed at laptop gaming
Core Ultra X9 388H Arc B390, 12 Xe-cores Up to 2.5 GHz, ray tracing, DirectX 12 Ultimate, 122 GPU TOPS
Core Ultra 9 386H / Ultra 5 325 Intel Graphics, 4 Xe-cores Up to 2.5 / 2.45 GHz, ray tracing, 40 GPU TOPS

AMD describes its desktop graphics as suited to light-duty work, and Intel gives the 285K just 4 Xe-cores. In laptops, AMD pitches the Radeon 890M at AAA gaming, and the Arc B390 triples the Xe-core count.

Intel F-series desktop chips, such as a 285KF, have no usable integrated graphics: Intel defines the F suffix as requiring discrete graphics.

Memory support: the DIMM-count trap

AM5 and Intel's Core Ultra 200S desktops both run dual-channel DDR5. Four slots on the board means two modules share each channel.

Check AMD AM5 Intel LGA1851 (285K)
Memory type DDR5 only DDR5 only
Channels 2 2
Rated speed on the spec page Listed on each Ryzen product page at amd.com Up to DDR5-6400
Memory profile for faster kits AMD EXPO Memory overclocking on Z890, B860 and W880
Where four-module speed is stated Your motherboard's memory support list Your motherboard's memory support list

A headline speed such as DDR5-6400 is the processor's rating, not a promise for every layout. Before buying four sticks, find the four-module speed in the board maker's memory support list.

Laptops add a second trap: LPDDR5X is soldered. A Core Ultra X9 388H laptop keeps the memory it ships with, so buy the capacity you need on day one.

AM5 compatibility and BIOS checks

Ryzen 9000 launched in July 2024, almost two years after the first AM5 boards. A 600 series board may need a newer BIOS before it recognises the chip.

  1. Find the exact motherboard model printed on the board or its box, such as a B650 or X670E model name.
  2. Open the board maker's CPU support list for that model and find Ryzen 9 9900X or the chip you plan to buy.
  3. Note the minimum BIOS version listed next to the processor.
  4. Compare it with the BIOS version shown on the board's BIOS main screen.
  5. Update the BIOS first if your version is older, following the board maker's instructions.
  6. Install the latest AMD chipset driver in Windows after the new processor boots.

Intel's equivalent check is the Intel Desktop Compatibility Tool, linked from each processor's Compatible Products page on intel.com.

Which should you buy?

Your situation Lean towards Why
You want to upgrade the CPU later on the same board AMD AM5 AMD commits to AM5 support through 2027 and beyond
You need many cores for rendering or compiling Compare Ryzen 9 9950X with Core Ultra 9 285K 16 cores / 32 threads against 24 cores / 24 threads
You edit video and have no discrete GPU yet Intel Core Ultra 200S (not F) Quick Sync and AV1 encode on the processor
You want a thin laptop with strong built-in graphics Ryzen AI 9 HX 370 or Core Ultra X9 / X7 Radeon 890M or Arc B390
You want upgradeable laptop memory A Core Ultra 9 386H or Ryzen system with DDR5 SO-DIMMs LPDDR5X-only chips are soldered
You build a quiet or small desktop Ryzen 7 9700X or Ryzen 5 9600X 65 W TDP

Whichever side you pick, confirm the chip is on the Windows 11 supported CPU list if you are buying a used PC. For a single game target, the same specs decide the best CPU for GTA 6.

Why clock speed does not settle the comparison

The 285K's 5.7 GHz and the 9900X's 5.6 GHz are single-core burst figures. They say little about sustained or multithreaded work.

What the GHz figure hides AMD example Intel example
Core types One Zen 5 core type P-cores at 5.5 GHz, E-cores at 4.6 GHz
Threads per core 2 (SMT) 1 (no Hyper-Threading on the 285K)
Instructions per clock Zen 5 rated 16% higher IPC than Zen 4 Not comparable across vendors
Power limit 120 W TDP 125 W base, 250 W maximum turbo
Cache 76 MB total 36 MB Smart Cache plus 40 MB L2
Who sets the boost Cooling, BIOS and chipset driver Turbo Boost Max 3.0 and Thermal Velocity Boost

Intel also states that processor numbers are not a measure of performance across families. Compare independent benchmarks for your own software after narrowing the list by specs.

Common AMD versus Intel comparison mistakes

Mistake Why it misleads What to check instead
Comparing core counts directly 24 Intel cores include 16 Efficient-cores; 12 AMD cores run 24 threads Core types and thread count
Comparing TDP with base power The 285K has a 125 W base power but a 250 W maximum turbo power Maximum turbo power and your cooler rating
Assuming every Core Ultra has Arc graphics Core Ultra 9 386H and Ultra 5 325 have Intel Graphics, not Arc The GPU Name line on the intel.com spec page
Buying an F chip without a graphics card F means discrete graphics required The suffix before you order
Pairing a K chip with a B860 board B860 does not unlock core overclocking Z890 for IA and BCLK tuning
Ignoring the BIOS on an older AM5 board Early 600 series BIOS versions predate Ryzen 9000 The board's CPU support list

How to check which CPU your Windows PC has

Before you compare upgrades, confirm what the current PC has. Task Manager shows the model, cores and threads on Windows 11 and Windows 10.

  1. Press Ctrl + Shift + Esc to open Task Manager.
  2. Select Performance in the left pane.
  3. Select CPU.
  4. Read the processor name in the top-right corner of the graph.
  5. Read Cores and Logical processors below the graph; logical processors equal threads.

A Ryzen 9 9900X shows 12 cores and 24 logical processors. A Core Ultra 9 285K shows 24 cores and 24 logical processors.

Task Manager CPU details showing Cores and Logical processors counts
In Task Manager under Performance > CPU, Cores and Logical processors sit below the graph; logical processors equal threads. (Image: Microsoft)

AMD vs Intel processors FAQ

Is Ryzen 9000 compatible with all AM5 motherboards?

Ryzen 9000 uses the same AM5 socket as Ryzen 7000, and AMD added the X870E and X870 chipsets for it. Older 600 series boards may need a BIOS update first, so check the board maker's CPU support list.

Does AM5 support DDR4 memory?

No. AMD describes Socket AM5 as a dual-channel DDR5 platform, and every AM5 chipset from B650 to X870E uses DDR5. DDR4 kits from an AM4 build cannot be reused.

Does every Intel Core Ultra processor have Arc integrated graphics?

No. Among Core Ultra Series 3 chips, the X models such as the X9 388H have Arc B390 graphics, while the Core Ultra 9 386H and Ultra 5 325 list Intel Graphics. Arc also needs at least 16 GB of dual-channel memory on H-series systems.

Is the Ryzen 9 9900X faster than every Core Ultra processor?

No spec sheet answers that. The 9900X has 24 threads on 12 cores at 120 W, the 285K has 24 cores at up to 250 W, and the result depends on your software. Check independent benchmarks for the apps you use.

Can four DDR5 modules run at the processor's advertised speed?

Not necessarily. The advertised figure, such as DDR5-6400 for the 285K, is the processor rating. With four modules, two share each of the two channels, and the motherboard's memory support list gives the speed for that layout.

Which uses less power, AMD or Intel?

On rated figures, the Ryzen 9 9900X has a 120 W TDP and the Core Ultra 9 285K a 125 W base power with 250 W maximum turbo power. Plan cooling for the higher figure.

Does the Core Ultra 9 285K have Hyper-Threading?

No. Intel's spec page lists Hyper-Threading as No for the 285K, so its 24 cores run 24 threads. AMD's Ryzen 9 9900X runs two threads per core, giving 24 threads from 12 cores.

What does the F suffix mean on an Intel processor?

Intel defines F as a desktop processor that requires discrete graphics. An F chip, such as a 285KF, cannot drive a monitor from the motherboard ports, so you need a graphics card.

Which socket does each current desktop processor use?

AMD Ryzen 9000 and Ryzen 7000 desktop chips use Socket AM5. Intel Core Ultra 200S desktop chips, including the 285K, use LGA1851 with Intel 800 series chipsets such as Z890 and B860.

The bottom line on AMD vs Intel processors

Choose AMD AM5 if you value a long-lived socket and two threads per core at a lower rated power; choose Intel Core Ultra if you want more physical cores, Quick Sync video encoding or Arc graphics in a laptop. The vendors' own specifications separate the two platforms on core layout, power limits, socket support and graphics, while headline clock speeds sit within 0.1 GHz of each other.

Philip Celasco

Philip is a Texas-based technology writer and IT administrator at Techdows.com with more than 10 years of experience creating practical content for everyday users and professionals. He specializes in web browsers, particularly Chromium-based platforms such as Google Chrome, Microsoft Edge, Brave, and Opera. Through his work as an IT administrator, Philip has hands-on experience managing devices, configuring browser policies, troubleshooting software and network issues, and helping people resolve problems that affect productivity and security. His articles are based on practical testing and real-world technical experience. He covers browser settings, extensions, performance problems, privacy controls, security features, and Windows troubleshooting. Outside work, Philip enjoys the quieter side of life in Texas and stepping away from the screen when he can. He has two kids, two cats and loves to play golf with his mother during the weekends.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *