Recently, we’ve covered Microsoft implemented battery life-extending solution in Chromium browser which is now available behind a flag in Chrome and Edge browsers, yet another contribution from MS, the “Reveal Password button” has been landed in Chrome 78 Canary and now shows you the password you’ve typed in the password field when you click on the eye icon.
One month back, Chromium team has implemented “reveal button for <input type =”password”>” in Chromium (contributed by Microsoft), the change has been already available to some users in Canary but seems its been shipped and enabled by default as it is appearing to us today on Discuss and Reddit sites, which natively doesn’t support this feature.
To test the feature right away
1. Ensure you’re using Chrome Canary 78.0.3895, visit Reddit homepage
2. Try to login, while typing the password, you can notice the reveal button, which when clicked, shows the password
Note: You can also view the password you’ve typed by pressing Alt+F8. if you don’t have an account on Reddit, don’t worry! You can just enter a random password to notice the eye icon.
Do know, Google has added “logics to make sure the reveal button only appears with the user input” and the reveal button won’t appear when the password is auto-filled by browser/password manager or scripts.
“If the password is not empty in the first place (ex. autofill or value =xxx) or the controls loses focus and regains focus, or the value changed by script, the reveal button won’t show”.
FYI, this feature is not new, Classic Edge and Internet Explorer have this built-in, some websites also support the feature. For instance, Google on their Gmail account login page, shows the password reveal icon (eye) in all browsers to reveal what you entered in the password field to check.
How the reveal button can be helpful to users?
Its always good to check the login credentials you’ve entered correct or not before submitting or clicking the login button, accidentally typing the password multiple times may cause the website to block you or lock you from signing into the service, where you’ll be allowed to try again after a certain amount of time.