Recently we reported Google is redesigning the Chrome Incognito page on Android and desktop with more details and greater transparency. It goes on to say what incognito mode does and what it doesn’t. Soon, when you try to download files in incognito, Chrome will warn they can still be seen by others on the device with whom you share, you need to confirm to proceed with the download.
What Incognito mode does
When you close Chrome Incognito tabs/Windows
- Your browsing and search history, Cookies, and Information you entered on forms will be cleared.
- Downloads and bookmarks will be kept.
Incognito mode is not anonymous, your visit to websites can still be tracked by advertisers, websites, employers, Schools, and your Internet Service Provider.
The main aim of using Private mode is to hide your browsing activity from being seen by others when you share your device.
Chrome Incognito page misses mentioning downloads
If you check the new Incognito page carefully, you’ll notice Google has specifically not mentioned bookmarks and downloads will be saved.
Chrome now wants to clarify this through a new warning in incognito that your downloads can be checked by other users who have access to your device.
You need to enable a flag to see this feature in Chrome on Android.
Enable confirmation dialog for downloads in Chrome Incognito
- Launch Chrome Canary
- Visit chrome://flags
- Search for “incognito“, for “Enable incognito downloads warning“, select Enabled and restart the browser.
Note: The flag is available for Windows, Mac, Linux, Chrome OS (desktop), and Android, right now it’s working in the latter.
From now on, whenever you try to download files in incogntio, Chrome alert you about the issue you have to deal with and asks for your confirmation to proceed:
“Files you download in Incognito mode are still visible to anyone who uses this device”, the dialog reads.
If you often download files in incognito, then you may get annoyed by this.
Chrome requires your confirmation to download files in Incognito going forward. This is to let you know downloaded files saved on the device can still appear to others who use it.
Do you think Google is overdoing Chrome’s incognito mode after receiving a lawsuit against it? Let us know in the comments below
More on Chrome incognito mode: