You heard right. Chrome protects its crucial settings – Default search engine, Homepage, Startup pages, pinned tabs, and extensions – from being changed by malware or programs installed in your computer. And it checks for these settings now and then, if it finds something wrong, then the Google browser automatically resets the settings. If you see the below message in Chrome settings page, then you don’t need to worry, just get used to it as you will tend to see it more often in the future.

‘Chrome detected that some of your browser settings were changed by another program and reset them to their original defaults.’

Chrome automatic settings Reset box

Chrome help page says "Sometimes programs that you install can change your Chrome settings without you knowing. For your protection Chrome occasionally checks your browser settings to make sure they haven’t been changed. If Chrome notices that something’s not right, it will automatically reset your settings back to normal."

And if you’ve not used Chrome browser Since April 2014, then also settings will be reset automatically.

Have you came across this before? What’s your take on this? Share with us in the comments.