Don’t want Google to show your profile photo and name in their ads?. Google has updated their terms of service with three changes and one important change related to users is with effect from Nov 11, 2013 onwards is Search engine giant might show your public Google+ profile name and photo in their ads, Google calling these as shared endorsements.

“clarifying how your Profile name and photo might appear in Google products (including in reviews, advertising and other commercial contexts).” and don’t worry! Google has given option to opt-out or disable these shared endorsements in Ads though a setting. “When it comes to shared endorsements in ads, you can choose whether your name and photo may be used to help your friends find stuff that you love (and avoid stuff that you don’t) – you can control this with the setting”.

So you’re in full control of things. Most dislike part here is Google has turned on shared endorsements by default and asking you to opt-out.

When you sign into Google account today to check messages in inbox, Google+ notifications informs about “New terms of service Update about how we display your information in ads and content”.

These shared endorsements also applies to Google+ page also, you also need to disable them separately from settings, we’ll show you how.

Opt-out or disable Google shared endorsements in ads

1. Sign into Google account with your username an password

2. Visit shared endorsements settings page, scroll down to bottom and uncheck for setting “Based on my activity, Google may show my name and profile photo in shared endorsements that appear in ads.”and click on save button.

setting for Google shared endorsements in ads

3. Now for Google+ page, click on manage this page, from More drop-down select Settings

here Shared Endorsements setting shows on click on Edit button which takes you to Endorsements settings page mentioned above

Shared Endorsement setting for Google  page

You need to uncheck above mentioned setting again and click on Save button. If you’ve multiple Google accounts (which has Google+ profile created) and pages and you need to follow the above procedure for all.