How to Disable Firefox Health Report?

by Venkat eswarlu on April 8, 2013

in How to,tips and tricks

Firefox 21 Beta has been released and available for testing with new features like three state of  UI for Do Not Track, ability to restore all removed thumbnails from most controversial New Tab Page and Health Report has been preliminarily implemented which has been already available on Nightly and Aurora builds.

Viewing Firefox health Report

To open Firefox health report, click on Firefox button and then hover mouse oven Help Submenu and select “Firefox Health Report” or type “about:healthreport” (without quotes) in address bar and press enter.

If you’ve visited Health Report on first day, at the bottom page shows tip to come back after couple of weeks to see more trends.

FYI, Firefox Beta comes with Data Sharing/Health Report is turned on by default for browser which means Firefox sends Raw data to Mozilla servers. If you’ve any Privacy concerns you can turn off data sharing or disable Firefox Health Report then all data Mozilla received will be deleted form their servers after 180 days.

Disabling Firefox Health Report/stop data sharing with Mozilla

I.  From Firefox Health Report page click on Data Sharing button which is on to turn it off.

Firefox Health Report with Data Sharing on off option thumb How to Disable Firefox Health Report?

II. You can also turn off Data sharing by disabling Firefox health report for that

1. Click on Firefox button>Options>Options

2. On Options window click on “Data Choices” tab and uncheck “Enable Firefox Health Report”

disabling Firefox health report thumb How to Disable Firefox Health Report?

3. Click ok to save the changes.

SHARE

Related Posts:

{ 5 comments… read them below or add one }

Kevin Vesga April 8, 2013 at 8:47 pm

Firefox 20 beta? Version 20 is already final. Also under Data Choices, my option says “Enable Crash Reporter” instead of “Enable Firefox Health Report”. Did you mean Firefox 21 beta?

Reply

Venkat eswarlu April 9, 2013 at 6:12 am

Yes I mean Firefox 21 beta, updated the post. Sorry for the confusion.

Reply

Daniel Einspanjer April 9, 2013 at 3:39 am

If you disable submission of the FHR data, the client will immediately send a request to the server to delete the previously submitted data (if there is any). This request is processed immediately.

The 180 days is how many days of data the installation stores locally for analysis by the user and submits to the server. If the installation stops submitting but does not opt-out, then the last submission will remain on the server for 180 days before being deleted.

Reply

Venkat eswarlu April 9, 2013 at 6:35 am

According to Mozilla KB article on FHR data whatever is stored will be deleted after 180 days “When you turn sharing off, Mozilla will stop sending information about your browser to our servers. Any information that’s already on our servers will expire after 180 days.”
Here is the link for that KB https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/firefox-health-report-understand-your-browser-perf

Reply

Daniel Einspanjer April 11, 2013 at 3:11 am

Venkat,
That KB article isn’t correct there. Thank you very much for pointing it out. I’ve submitted a change to it for review by the SUMO team.

Reply

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: